Never Too Late to Learn

recap 09:05 28 Jul 05

I am not posting this for any information from anyone here to find the oldest learner, it's just as a discussion point.

I work as an ICT Centre Manager for UK Online, and I thought you may be interested in the following campaign?

The National Institute of Adult Continuing Education (NIACE) is conducting a national search to find England's Oldest Learner as part of it's Sign Up Now Campaign in September.

Stories already include those of 84 year old Raymond Elgood from Leicester, and Walter Goddard, aged 95, from Surrey. Raymond achieved three Open College Network qualifications in ICT through attending Computer lessons at Age Concern.

The oldest learner I have registered at one of our centres is an 82 year old woman who is doing a University course in IT. She has got a merit for each of the four modules she has completed so far.

I personally started learning again when I was 42 and wished I had started much earlier.

When did you start learning again after years of non-education?

Jackcoms 14:36 28 Jul 05

Aren't we all learning all of the time, whatever our age?

Isn't this whole business of 'life' an ongoing learning process?

Or am I being too philosophical for my own good?

badgery 14:50 28 Jul 05

I think, therefore am I?

Forum Editor 17:25 28 Jul 05

was 85 when he first asked me to teach him computing. We worked together for three years, until he was 87 and he went to live abroad. During that time we had some laughs, and some very tetchy moments - he found it extremely difficult to get to grips with the concept of the Internet. At times I went to see him with a heavy heart, knowing that we would go over the same ground we covered on the previous occasion, and the one before that.