Microsoft one care

J B 15:58 16 May 05

Form Editor, reference thread on 13/05/05 about the above subject will this cause havoc to the anti virus software installed in computers? I ask because this sounds interesting to say the least and it has a monthly maintenance check on the computer. I see that MS are only taking apps. for the states at present so maybe I'm jumping the gun a bit, but I would like to give this program. May I add that I'm fairly new to computers so I would appreciate any advice, thanks. J.B.

Maverick81 15:23 25 May 05

Hehe I doubt they have many of the AV vendors worried just yet...its only a beta program

Although if they get it right they could do well and intergrate it into Longhorn....

Although I am not sure I trust microsoft to much

Mav

Maverick81 15:25 25 May 05

Have a read of the press release

click here

Forum Editor 19:28 25 May 05

I foresee lots of discussion about this in the near future.

At the moment I'm trying to sweet-talk the Microsoft Press Office into letting me get my hands on a beta copy.

J B 23:56 25 May 05

Thanks for the advice guys. I too await with bated breath as to what Microsoft and their boffins come up with.One can only hope that they come to the right decision. J.B.

rdave13 00:20 26 May 05

AOL are trying to do it now.

Joe R 09:02 26 May 05

J B,

As the F.E. states, I think this will run for a while this subject.

If Microsoft start charging for a product, which is only there, because of the flaws inherent in the Operating system and browser, I can see a lot of flak flying.

rodolfo 13:42 26 May 05

But, following EU fine for anti-competitive practice by bundling media player with Windows, would MS have to charge for AV anyway to avoid further court cases ?

Aspman 15:14 26 May 05

I've read else where that OneCare might just be the start of a shift in MS strategy to have a great deal more software on a subscription basis.