Manual or Automatic?

Z1100 19:57 08 Mar 07

I have had 'a few' cars but the one I have just sold was an Automatic Transmission and the New one is Automatic too.

Four years ago I would not test drive an Automatic Car let alone buy one, however a trip to USA sorted that out as the hire car was Automatic. What an eye opener that was!

I now love them, don't think I will go back to a 'stick' it is so much easier to drive the Automatic, so how come they are not as common over here...?

Hanx!
K.

Confab 19:59 08 Mar 07

Automatic - No messing around with gears for me. Two hands on the wheel and nice relaxing driving.

As a current learner driver, I started in an automatic then moved to a manual car, but to be honest, I think I prefer the manual (well after I finally grasped the clutch) as I feel you have more control over the car but I agree an automatic does makes a more "luxurious" and relaxing drive.

I've asked my grandad why automatics are not more common in the UK and his answer was that in the past they were quite a bit more expensive and suffered from reliability issues. That has changed for the most part now so perhaps as time goes on we will see more and more automatics roaming our roads.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:06 08 Mar 07

so how come they are not as common over here...?

the price of an autmatic compared with a manual is considerably more on most models in this country.

WhiteTruckMan 20:08 08 Mar 07

Possibly historical due to relative levels of available horsepower. The first auto I drove was a mini 850. The least said about that performance the better. Suffice to say that it put me off autos for a long time.

Next foray was a rover V8 auto. That showed me what an auto could be like with enough power to drive the box properly.