Libel/slander on website?

bamfiesler 00:44 02 Feb 05

Two people I no longer work with or co-operate with are bad-mouthing me on their website. It's nothing severe, but involves my full name and what I've done with my head to my nether regions.

I'd rather go straight for their web-hosting firm/ISP, and have them force these guys to get this removed. Can anyone offer me any assistance in how to approach this to my personal satisfaction?

Thanx to all, etc.

AndySD 05:04 02 Feb 05

If you know rheir ISP/Hosting company then send them a cease and desist letter.

But it is probably also a good idea to check on the terms and conditions of the host first.

Dan the Confused 07:13 02 Feb 05

Probably best to see a Solicitor. A letter sent from a legal firm carries a lot of weight and usually gets results. You may even be able to receive damages for defamation of character, but I'm no legal expert so best talk to someone who knows.

bamfiesler 08:07 02 Feb 05

Thanks for that. How do I find out out who their ISP is, though? Their site is a .co.uk, but I don't know how to trace this.

Any ideas?

Monument 09:32 02 Feb 05

Use Sam Spade to input the address and it will tell you the host click here

Djohn 09:32 02 Feb 05

I'm not sure what your best course of action is other than to see a solicitor but I suggest you take some screen shots of the site and the wording of every occasion your name is displayed. Print these out for your own records.

bamfiesler 10:16 02 Feb 05

Thank you all for your input. I'll mark this as resolved, but if anyone thinks of anything else, pl. feel free to e-mail.

Regards,

Bam F

david.h 15:49 02 Feb 05

if you get a solicitors letter check his fee's first some are expensive rip off's others may charge a nominal fee. I found this out from experience of shopping around my local town.If you take proceedings go for a no win no fee deal.

Forum Editor 19:52 03 Feb 05