Learning

rawprawn 17:39 21 Jan 08

Good evening gentlemen, I have never posted here before, but felt that there may be some interesting answers.
I have been a member of this forum for some years, I came here as a complete novice, and asked how to get out of various predicaments (I still do)
Hope fully I have learned a lot over the years, but I am no expert. I am as you all must know a continual tinkerer but I feel that making mistakes, and finding out how to correct them is the essence of becoming computer literate.

Well?

DrScott 18:22 21 Jan 08

to Speakers' Corner then.

Your comments about sum up most of us.

Three holes in the ground? Well well well.

Forum Editor 18:23 21 Jan 08

there used to be a system of craft training called 'sitting by Nellie'. Nellie (or Betty, or Sue, or Ruby, etc.) was highly-skilled, and very experienced, and new employees who wanted to learn the trade were told to 'sit by Nellie' for a few weeks and watch how she did things. Nellie would quickly sum up the strengths and weaknesses of a new recruit, and would either turn out a fully-skilled operative, or tell the foreman they were wasting their time. It worked wonderfully, and hundreds of thousands of craft-workers were trained in this way.In time of course, some of them became 'Nellie' themselves, and in this way skills were passed from generation to generation - it was a kind of apprenticeship without the formalities.

Computing can be a highly complex subject, or it can be relatively simple - it all depends on how far you want to take it in a personal sense. There are formal qualifications, and there are lots of training centres, but the majority of home-users teach themselves, with a bit of help from magazines and friends - or often from their children, if they have them.