Laid Off work - day to day

wids001 13:31 19 Apr 10

I've tried getting an answer on this from various sources but keep drawing a blank so hopefully someone here can assist.

I work in the construction industry and have been told that we will be "stood down" on a daily basis from next week. We're not being made redundant, just told not to come to work until notified.

Is this legal, and secondly does the company have to pay us or can we claim dole for the days were are not required.

wee eddie 14:03 19 Apr 10

your 'Contract of Employment'

What does that say?

wids001 14:22 19 Apr 10

I have managed to find the information on the Directgov web site. Looks like they can stand us down but our T&C state that must be on full pay!

wee eddie 15:36 19 Apr 10

What is the length of your 'Contracted' Working week?

Quickbeam 15:40 19 Apr 10

Make an appointment at your local CAB. It's free, unbiased and they will be able to decipher a contract of employment that isn't too clear.

interzone55 16:27 19 Apr 10

What are your contracted hours?

If they have to pay full pay, then they only have to pay your contracted hours. Many sneaky employers have very low contracted hours for just this kind of situation...

zzzz999 06:16 20 Apr 10

Many (many) years ago as an engineer we were laid off and after so many weeks of being laid off you could insist on being made redundant. Not sure if its still the same.

spuds 10:39 20 Apr 10

If you work for an agency, then there might be a few complications as to your employment status. Just telling someone that they are "stood down" is not legal in todays employment laws.