IQ Tests ;-)

Kev.Ifty 23:34 07 Oct 05

I have tried a few IQ tests (with my tongue in my cheek) and found myself to be ranging from 'slightly above average' to 'genius' ;-/

I do enjoy logic puzzles and that sort of thing, although I am not very good at the mathematical problems, i usually score about average on them.

But I just can't understand this type of question....

"If Jody doesn't pay her ticket, she will go to jail."

Which other statement must be true?

1. If Jody pays her ticket, she won't go to jail.
2. If Jody goes to jail, she didn't pay her ticket.
3. If Jody doesn't go to jail, she paid her ticket.

My poor little 'swede' "Doe's not compute"

With FE's indulgence (i hope)...

Anyone up for explaining that to me.

Cheers Kev

Forum Editor 00:21 08 Oct 05

Jody will go to jail if she doesn't pay her ticket, but she may go for some other reason, so 1. Can't be true.

2. Isn't true, either - for the same reason. Jody may go to jail for another offence.

3. Must be true. You know for certain that if Jody doesn't go to jail she must have paid her ticket, because if she hadn't done so she would go to jail.

g0slp 00:22 08 Oct 05

to jail"

All three are true

It's been a looooonnnnnnnnggg week ;-)

wolfie3000 01:20 08 Oct 05

i have done quiet a few I.Q. tests in my time and never really trust an accurate result from them if people are interested in finding out there true I.Q. mensa will set one up with a trained person but first you have to write off to mensa for there little booklet test once you've done that and sent it off and if the test result is good they for a small fee will setup a proper I.Q. test.
click here

BTW my I.Q. is 156 when i took the test. 4 years back.

Kev.Ifty 01:22 08 Oct 05

Thanks.. I think i get it.

That Jody ay? Assuming she hasn't been caught shoplifting or illegally downloading stuff with Kazza. Then the only other reason left for going to jail is not paying her ticket.