How to you feel about HS2 in England

Ungus 10:02 02 Jun 15

Having watched the TV last night and the chaos on the railway network especially in England do you think building HS2 will have any effect on what passengers have to put up with in regard to fares, conditions and total overcrowding. Not being an expert i would rather reach my destination in pleasant surroundings in safety sitting down and paying a fair price rather than getting there maybe 30 minutes sooner. Of course from our point of view up here in the land north of the central belt of Scotland HS2 will make absolutely no difference to our lives and probably not even those in the central belt but unfortunately our contribution to this project will be 3.5 billion. I would rather see my bit of the 3.5 billion going to improving the network throughout the UK system on perhaps lower fares better rolling stock time tables that you can understand and most of all a seat.

Brumas 10:31 02 Jun 15

Ungus, It really annoys me because the money could be better used instead to dual the whole of the cart track, a.k.a. the A1, in places double white lines on a series of bad bends, up here in the forgotten north!!

Rant over, sorry for hijacking your thread.

morddwyd 10:40 02 Jun 15

You can keep it.

Standing on the outside looking in, it appears to be yet another major investment in infrastructure to benefit the SE.

HondaMan 11:46 02 Jun 15

No value to me at all, Basic maintenance of the line in Cornwall would be better spent

OTT_B 12:00 02 Jun 15

It's an obscene waste of money.

For the (forever varying, but inevitably increasing) cost of £70bn, a whole lot of rolling stock could be purchased and existing lines upgraded, probably leaving a large chunk of money spare to subsidise rail travel for all. Not that that would stop fares increasing......

tonyq 12:48 02 Jun 15

As someone on TV said not to long ago,"I would maybe agree with HS2 if they would start from Newcastle heading south"

oresome 15:13 02 Jun 15