//some 3rd party need geo

How about some dedicated helpers

stalion 20:45 24 Oct 04

For the sp2 forum many questions are going un-answered,anyone?

VoG II 21:16 24 Oct 04

I would love to help (and do pitch in the odd comment). However the three upgrades that I have done have gone relatively painlessly so I have no experience of most of the problems.

In fact the only problem that I do have direct experience of is Security Center not recognising Norton.

Having read a lot of these problems I am firmly of the opinion that at least some of these problems are caused by:

- installing SP2 on systems with crud on them

- not closing down all non-essential running processes.

Be assured, I do look in from time-to-time and try to help if I can.

stalion 21:19 24 Oct 04

I also am looking in regularly but am not familiar with some of the problems posted.

JonnyTub 21:27 24 Oct 04

Hi guys,

must say i also had a pretty straightforward install, most of the problems i can see are caused by "crud" as VoG states. Microsoft did release a statement somewhere down the line which I and others have mentioned. The statement essentially say's (in my own words :-) ) " If you got a dirty system don't bother trying to install sp2, it simply won't work, clean it out with all the usual, and then try again".

If I remember correctly 90% of systems infected with the "crud" just won't take a proper sp2 install.

Maybe someone should start a thread entitled "read this before you install sp2" and the subject reading "before you even contemplate installing sp2, blah, blah"

Ah well.... you live and learn

JonnyTub 21:55 24 Oct 04

Well,i have started just such a thread.

It's Me 21:55 24 Oct 04

I can only relate what I did re the Mesh 'Fix', which is per Mesh's instructions anyway. But I keep trying Oh Yes Very Trying :))

gudgulf 22:14 24 Oct 04