The garden pond

Quickbeam 11:16 03 Oct 09

I did a slight expansion of my pond in the spring, along with a new pump and filter. Now I'm surprised at the increase in natural water wildlife that's taken residence and visiting garden birds, so I'm going to double it in size again.

So, should I do it now, or in the spring to cause the least disturbance to the fish and toads that live there now?

lofty29 11:52 03 Oct 09

Quickbeam
Glad you are enjoying your pond,I am no expert but would have thought that now is the better time, because spring is the breeding season for much of the wildlife, so there would be more disturbance for them if you left it till then. By the way are going going to dig out and add a big new liner or a supplementary pond.

Quickbeam 12:09 03 Oct 09

I want to dig out the existing pond to about 10% of the back garden area.

I was thinking now from the point of view, that I want to build up a banked side rockery with the spoil and plant alpines and spring bulbs now, so that by the spring they will be fully ready to cover any bare earth.

lofty29 12:23 03 Oct 09

Is your pond stocked or is it a wildlife habitat, if it is stocked dont forget you may have fry from this years breeding and they are a job to spot.

Quickbeam 13:20 03 Oct 09

There are some fish, goldfish and comets, but if they've ever produced young, they've been eaten.

On the extension, I will have a shallow area with pond plants where they can survive a bit longer before going into the deep water.

I've never tried very hard with any of it, it just develops naturally fine on it's own, and attracts it's own life that thrives.

Forum Editor 13:40 03 Oct 09

the easier it is to look after - it might sound a bit strange, but it's true.