Do you support a charity?

johndere 12:33 28 Aug 06

I do give but not as often as may be i should.
Mostly to the RNLI, Salvation Army, The Poppy Appeal & to others at a time of need.

I hardly give to some of thes street collectors who try to sign you up, as after it was mentioned on TV that some of them take commision on what you give.

g0slp 12:36 28 Aug 06

I do.

RNLI (obviously, as I'm a professional seafarer), Poppy Appeal & the main Breast Cancer charity, whose name I have for some reason forgotten...:(

g0slp 12:37 28 Aug 06

Also the Marine Society, for the same reason as the RNLI.

GANDALF <|:-)> 14:01 28 Aug 06

Not directly but I have a clear out every 6 months and any clothes or household items that I do not use or am never likely to use gets taken to a local charity shop for the homeless. I never hoard anything and the phrase 'it might come in useful one day' makes me scream.

G

spuds 14:15 28 Aug 06

I support a couple of small local charities, and somewhere in my heart, I have a very deep feeling for the RNLI who I support, even though I live miles from the sea.

One thing that turns me away from some well known charities, is perhaps the very high administration costs, with some executives on six figure salaries with added perks.I like to feel that my contributions to the needy, those without and not those with.

spuds 14:19 28 Aug 06

"I like to feel that my contributions 'go' to the needy, 'and to' those without and not those with". (if that makes sense!)

anskyber 14:21 28 Aug 06

Yes, the usual contributions to recognised charities. I also have a modest monthly standing order to Save the Children. Two reasons, firstly because the max of the contribution goes to the service as opposed to covering admin costs and secondly because children should not suffer from the rubbish decisions of others.

The famous picture of a Vietnam child running away from fighting was the catalyst to my decision.

wee eddie 16:45 28 Aug 06