A distressing sight

Al94 22:58 02 Apr 08

I witnessed a very distressing sight earlier this evening. Without going into the background, of which I have some knowledge, a team of social workers accompanied by police came to a local house for the purpose of taking the youngest child of the family into care, a female around 9/10 years old. The father was distraught and the child hysterical (wife has gone off with another man). The father had to be restrained by the police and was handcuffed. The hysterical child was screaming and pleading for her daddy not to be taken away and trying to pull the handcuffs off him and clinging to him. This all took place outside on the road with many looking on and traffic stopped. No matter what the circumstances (nothing related to abuse) it seemed a dreadful way to handle the situation and very traumatic for the poor child. This would be in what would be considered an upmarket area. I am still shaken by what I saw and really feel this was handled in a very heavy insensitive manner and feel very sorry for all concerned.

Forum Editor 23:06 02 Apr 08

but as you readily admit, you only know some of the background. There may well be aspects of this about which you're unaware.

It's probably natural that a child of that age is going to be distressed to see her father being forcibly restrained, but maybe there was no alternative - the father would have been well aware that a care order had been made, and I imagine other less dramatic action had already been tried.

peg 23:07 02 Apr 08

poor girl and poor farther it dose seam very insensitive and heavy handed. is it in the child's best interest to handle it like that. i am sure that memory will be etched in to the poor girls mind.

Forum Editor 23:12 02 Apr 08

that will be "etched in to the poor girls mind", which might be the reason for the care order being made in the first place.

peg 23:14 02 Apr 08

point taken

Forum Editor 07:41 03 Apr 08