The cost of stamps on the rise

finerty 27 Mar 12

1st and 2nd class stamps are going zooming up thanks to the MP's and the regulator.

Stamps

Condom 27 Mar 12

As I understand it what has happened is that the price controls have been abolished but that doesn't necessarily mean that prices are going up but it probably does.

I can't remember the last time I sent a letter by snail mail as the Post Office has already priced itself out of my market and what I'm prepared to pay.

wiz-king 27 Mar 12

We are about halfway down the costing list

buteman 27 Mar 12

First class going up from 48p to 60p now I am not that good at counting but it has to be about a 25% rise.

I don't suppose it is anything to do with the Government taking it over and then reselling it.

It is a bit pathetic I think.

You have workers that have not had a pay rise or likely to get one in the near future and yet Royal mail are allowed to put their prices up by 25%.

Well I suppose e-mail is cheaper and quicker.Anyone with a share in any Xmas card company's I think now would be a good time to bail out.

It is getting to the stage where the stamp may be dearer than the Xmas card and not worth sending anymore because of the cost.

Blackhat 27 Mar 12

Buteman.

Cards are a lot cheaper than you think. pack of Xmas cards

Grey Goo 27 Mar 12

Someone advised people a couple of weeks ago to stock up before the rise.

buteman 27 Mar 12

Blackhat

Remember the bigger they are the more expensive to send.

I did read or hear something the other day about the Government.

Taking over the pension scheme first.

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/2096646a-71a8-11e1-8497-00144feab49a.html

Then selling off the rest of Royal Mail next year after they privatise it.

http://www.myfinances.co.uk/investments/2012/03/26/ft-government-looking-to-privatise-royal-mail-by-next-autumn.

buteman 27 Mar 12

Blinking hate that you copy and paste and it looks fine at the print at the bottom then will not open properly.