Car electric windows problem

VNAM75 13:25 16 Jun 08

The 4 electric windows on my mk1 focus will not work by pressing the button on the door, but it works from the key fob so the motor is not broken.

The only thing I can think of is the fuse but I'm not an electrical expert. Does anyone know what I should check for?

The rear wiper is also broken. It used to move about a quarter turn but now it doesn't move at all. I can hear a clicking noise at the fuse box so I don't know if its that or the motor as well. Is this part of the mot?

tullie 13:27 16 Jun 08

have you done the obvious,and checked the fuse?

interzone55 13:51 16 Jun 08

Your wipers will be part of the MOT - so they need to be fixed.

if you don't know what you're doing It's best to get the car round to an auto-electrician.

If you want to do it yourself get a copy of the Haynes manual

click here

Your library may well have a copy...

tullie 14:24 16 Jun 08

My rear wiper was broken,so i took it off,no problem with mot

jack 14:28 16 Jun 08

That says the motor and general electrics are OK
Internal switch then is either defunct or disconnected.
Auto electrician is the way to go.

interzone55 14:29 16 Jun 08

Isn't the law wonderful - if it's there & broken you fail your MOT, but there is not legal requirement for a rear wiper so it doesn't matter if you remove it.

I nearly mentioned that, but the electric windows is a more serious problem, so suggested the Haynes manual for help fixing both issues...

pj123 14:51 16 Jun 08

Rear screen wipers and washers (fitted or not) are not part of the MOT.

I got conned 2 years ago (because I didn't know any better) when they did an MOT and rang me to say my rear screen wipers weren't working, would I like them to fix it.

They didn't say that it wouldn't affect the MOT and, naturally, I assumed that if they weren't working it would fail.

I said yes and it cost me £160 altogether.

VNAM75 16:13 16 Jun 08