Can opener,

wolfie3000 09:21 08 Sep 09

Been looking to replace our old butterfly can opener and came across this can opener,

click here

Anyone had any experience with this type of can opener?
Is it worth getting or should a stick to the old type butterfly can openers.

johndrew 09:59 08 Sep 09

I have no personal experience, but a friend bought one as she is getting a little frail and with old age ..... Added to that I`m not sure if it was exactly the same make/model.

Anyway she couldn`t get on with it. Found it wouldn`t work properly; sometimes it would part open a tin other times it just `stalled` and wouldn`t even start to cut the lid off. Eventually she replaced it with a mechanical opener from one of the supermarkets.

Should add that most of the tins were cat food; whether this makes a difference or not I doubt.

dagbladet 10:01 08 Sep 09

There are many factors to consider before you commit to this decision.

Are you a heavy can user?

Do you have difficulty using manual can openers?

Can you spare £9 for a can opener (plus batteries occassionally)?

Are you prepared to accept that if you do go for the auto and subsequently find it not to your liking, you can revert to manual and move on with your life without too many regrets?

Don't just leap in Wolfie, give it some thought.

numskull 10:09 08 Sep 09

Got one. Quite good when they work but mine has packed up after less than 6 months. If the can lid gets stuck it is extremely difficult removing it. I have never found the release screw to work! If you do get one get a rechargeable one.

jack 10:33 08 Sep 09

So many of these electric convenience gadgets are poor manufacture and short life.
Hanging on the wall in the kitchen is a 'Prestige' -'clip in the can and crank the handle'which takes the lid off inside the seam.
Its been there 30 years opens all cans- cylindrical or oblong [Sardines/Corned beef]