Bringing radio scanner to the UK.

wmoore 00:14 16 Nov 07

Hi

We are moving to the UK in Jan 08. I would like to bring my Radio Scanner with me. Are there any problems with bring scanners into the UK from Overseas ?

GANDALF <|:-)> 00:19 16 Nov 07

You are not supposed to listen to Plod but hey ho!

G

octal 07:41 16 Nov 07

In answer to your question, no there isn't a problem. They are freely available for sale in this country.

Stuartli 13:55 16 Nov 07

It's very unlikely that you will be able to listen to Plod now - it's all, as far as I'm aware, using digital transmissions.

I often used to listen to the police and ambulance transmissions on FM (as a then journalist I picked up many a good story as a result), but it all came to an end a few years ago.

octal 14:16 16 Nov 07

It's not digital, it's a frequency hopping technique so you would only get a few words before another station would use the same frequency, meanwhile the original has pushed off elsewhere. All controlled by a separate encrypted digital frequency that all the radios listen to, to keep in sync. All very clever so they can use current radio technology with a slight modification. So anyone listening would get a cacophony of short transmittions, certainly not enough to follow the thread of a conversation.

Stuartli 16:00 16 Nov 07

Thanks for that - it resulted in the following links coming up:

click here

click here

johndrew 16:32 16 Nov 07

Commonly referred to as agile transmissions I believe. Originally developed for military use and now fairly common in many areas where `secure` communications are desirable.

octal 17:27 16 Nov 07