Boff's Thoughts on AI

ShalafiStudios 10:20 21 Mar 06

I’m a amateur developer and pondering greater things is my forte, I recently found a project that couldn’t be done in my first language, VB and this led me onto thinking about Artificial Intelligence and a discussion I had with my IT teacher several years ago, just don’t ask how that train of thought works.

I remember him saying something about when a human being learns something new, new neural passageways are created in the brain and since I’ve started learning C++ with its structure of source files and header files I came up with an interesting way of emulating this expanding learning curve.

The application would have a basic set of instructions that would form its interface and then a series of compile-able read/write source files that would form its ‘brain’. The program itself would be able to edit these when it ‘learnt’ something new.

When asked a question it would search these source files for the question and give the appropriate answer. However, if this question is not in the database the application would record it and ask for an answer from the user. The answer would also be added to the source files, it may be possible to use parameters to check for spelling deviations and the like.

Periodically the entity would be forced to revert to its ‘sleep’ state where the entity would return to its basic state and call a compiler that would compile all the edited source files and these would be the ones that would be used in future to interface with humans.

I am aware of ALICE and the other Pandora-bots I have spent several hours with ALICE and her source code and agree, that while crude in a way, these entities are great improvements in the field of AI.