Be very wary of your Bank's Auto-teller

wee eddie 14:58 22 Dec 10

I'm a Taxi Driver, I drive at night and it's mostly Pubers and Clubers that I carry. So every Note is checked with one of those Special Pens.

Today, when I used the Auto-teller to do my bi-weekly Pay-in, it told me that one of the Notes was Fraudulent and that it was retaining it.

Now, either I had a faulty Pen, or the Auto-teller was faulty. Either way, I needed to know.

Initially the Bank were unwilling to allow me to examine the Note, giving a number of reasons. However, I persisted and a little over 10 minutes later, a bloke came round the corner, presented his apologies and said that the Note was not a Fake and here it was. Thank you very much, he said, but occasionally, if a Note had become damp, the Auto-teller considered that it was fraudulent

Now forgive me for saying this but, had I not stood my ground, would I have seen that £20.00 again. I ha'e me dooots!

Monoux 15:09 22 Dec 10

wee eddie -- the bankers bonus's have to be paid for somehow -- :o)

spuds 17:13 22 Dec 10

I once had a problem with an ATM outside Asda. I made two attempts to obtain money, and on each occasion the machine issued a printed-out statement, but no money. Asda didn't want to know, so I took it up with the bank, a short time later.

After making a few checks the bank was aware as to what had happened, and my account had not actually been debited.Thinking that you might be £200.00 down, brought on a few sweats that day.

ams4127 22:12 22 Dec 10

Speaking to my daughter who works in a well known high street bank, she told me that in the last 24 hours the ATM outside the front door of said bank had dispensed £43,000.

I didn't know they held that much!

Forum Editor 23:31 22 Dec 10

and occasionally it will make a mistake. It shouldn't happen but it does, although it makes far fewer mistakes than human beings.

Forum Editor 23:34 22 Dec 10