Any tree experts out there?

anchor 14:50 13 Oct 10

I have 2 old apple trees in my garden. Each year they have produced a wonderful crop of cooking apples.

On lopping them down a bit recently, I noticed one tree has a problem; a bit of the bark was peeling of, and some browning had appeared.

You can see this from the 3 pictures here:

click here

I know nothing about fruit trees, but has anyone any idea what is causing this, and can be done?.

Thanks.

Pineman100 15:11 13 Oct 10

I'm no expert, but it looks to me as though that branch is dead.

It's difficult to know what's affected it, but if it were my tree I would cut the branch off, making sure that I cut right back into healthy wood.

I would then burn the branch, just in case it has an infestation or infection of some kind.

Most advice nowadays seems to suggest that it's best *not* to paint over the cut with a sealing compound. Just leave it open and allow it to heal over naturally.

spuds 15:40 13 Oct 10

We have some old apple trees which fruit every year in abundance, but with signs of some type of infestation (apples are eatable). It was suggested that in the 'dormant season' we wash the trees in a coal tar type solution. Keep saying that we will do this, but maybe this year it will happen.

The bark stripping that occurs on our trees is usually through animal boredom or pleasure?.

BRYNIT 15:47 13 Oct 10

Some Q&A on apple trees may give some advice click here

wiz-king 15:56 13 Oct 10

Tar oil wash is now discontinued - 'elf and safety.

Grey Goo 17:17 13 Oct 10

You can get Armillatox. Called a cleaner but is very good as a garden disinfectant and fungus killer. Tad pricy though but can be diluted up to 1:100

Forum Editor 17:38 13 Oct 10

if they haven't been pruned much over the years. I know this because I have a Cox's orange pippin tree that is around 25 years old, and a couple of years ago it did precisely what your tree is doing.