ZyXEL P-660HW adsl modem router

nuke 01:10 10 Jan 07

Hello, I have the above and I cannot connect to the net. I have attached the ethernet wire to both the motherboard and router.

I have also attached the adsl wre to the adsl connection in the router.

Te power, lan and wlan LED stay lit but the DSL LED keeps flashing.

I know for a fact my line is active since my usb modem dsl LED stays on.

I've follwed the instruction in the quick start guide to no avail. The modem isn't even recognised with ZyXEL own software unless i'm connected to the net with my usb modem.

Just incase there was any conflict with my uub modem I uninstalled the usb modem and tried the connecting the modem router again with no results.

I want to setup the networking first with the ethernet cable and then set all my security settings before I start going wireless.

Please help. I'm new to all this. It's proving very difficult.

STREETWORK 07:24 10 Jan 07

The first thing to do is to uninstall and drivers and software for any modem, adsl or other wise before you install the new one.

Once uninstalled, reinstall the new router drivers and software from the disk provided and turn off windows firewall. Do not connect the router yet.

Power off the PC and then connect the router to the ethernet card on the PC. And plug it into the filter for the phone line.

Reboot the PC and windows will finish installing the drivers for the new hardware.

You may have to wait for a while as it sets itself up.

When you have all the lights as described in the manual it should be connected.

Do not forget to enable the windows firewall

nuke 08:18 10 Jan 07

Thank you STREETWORK for the response.