Yellow marks of death in device manager

Steve94a 02:41 07 Aug 09

Hi all,
First thing to say is that I am a beginner with computers so please keep it simple.
I have something called a "PCI Simple communications controller" which has a yellow Question mark next to it. I have searched all over the web for info about this and most folk say that it relates to a modem.
That is not correct in my case.
In my case it refers to a small USB device about the same size as a small pen drive. This device has sockets for the two plugs on the end of a headset for speaker and mic. I can't find a driver for it anywhere but unless I can get it working properly my Speech Recognition software won't work and there are no other sockets for the headset.
I should maybe add that the sound for System sounds or when listening to music etc works fine either with the headphones or via the PC speakers.

There is also an exclamation mark next to my "C-Media AC97 audio device" but the 2 may be related.

The system is running XP Pro with 1gb RAM.
Any help would be very much appreciated.
Cheers,
Steve

gazzaho 05:15 07 Aug 09

The post by Zeusman on this forum may help you identify the device, once you have the name and make you can search for drivers for it click here the link for click here in in his first post is wrong as you will see if you read through the full list of posts.

Steve94a 08:55 07 Aug 09

gazzaho ... Thanks for the reply.
It was that guys post which prompted me to register here and ask my question.
I did as suggested and the manufacturer code took me to a company in Taiwan but the product codes seem very complicated.
I searched through about 30 of them individually but very few have images of the actual item. Most just have a stock image showing PC type components and the wording is such that I can't make head nor tail of it.
Plus, even when you get to the individual items, none of them have drivers that can be downloaded.
Thanks anyway.

birdface 10:06 07 Aug 09