XP User switching causes dial up to disconnect????

  NICTRY 10:07 12 Aug 03
Locked

Hi Guys,

Have had the msblast prob and stupidly formatted my HDD b4 realising it could be fixed, anyway in the past now but I have a small problem that I know someone here fixed for me a year or two ago (search not finding it!)

Basically when I switch users in XP the dial up connection disconnects, I remember there were a couple of things I needed to do but can't remember what they were, can anyone help?

  fitshase 12:56 12 Aug 03

Taken from XP help files:


Behavior of RAS Connections With the Fast User Switching Feature
The information in this article applies to:
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Microsoft Windows XP Professional

This article was previously published under Q289669

SUMMARY
When you use the Fast User Switching feature in Windows XP, you can switch between multiple users without quitting programs that are running in the original user's session. This article describes the behavior of Dial-up Networking connections with user switching.

MORE INFORMATION
Welcome Screen Logon (Simple Logon)
The following table in this section describes the behavior of Remote Access Services (RAS) and Virtual Private Networking (VPN) connections in the logon Welcome screen. The vertical column describes whether the Save this user name and password for the following users option is enabled or disabled and, if it is enabled, whether the Me only or Anyone who uses this computer option is selected. The horizontal row describes whether you are switching users or logging off.

Connection action User switch Logoff
RAS - Do not save password automatically disconnects automatically disconnects

RAS - save password for Me only automatically disconnects automatically disconnects

RAS - save password for Anyone stays connected prompts user* to disconnect or stay connected

VPN - do not save password automatically disconnects automatically disconnects

VPN - save password for Me only automatically disconnects automatically disconnects

VPN - save password for Anyone stays connected stays connected

*Only the initiator of the current connection is prompted during the first logoff. If the initiator of the current connection chooses to stay connected, subsequent log on and log off events are not prompted during the connection instance.


Classic Logon
The following table describes the behavior of RAS and VPN connections when you use the Classic Logon (CTRL+ALT+DEL logon) screen.

Connection action Logoff

RAS - do not save the password automatically disconnects

RAS - save password for Me only automatically disconnects

RAS - save password for Anyone prompts user* to disconnect or stay connected

VPN - do not save password automatically disconnects

VPN - save password for Me only automatically disconnects

VPN - Save password for Anyone automatically disconnects

*Only the initiator of the current connection is prompted during the first logoff. If the initiator of the current connection chooses to stay connected, subsequent log on and log off events are not prompted during the connection instance. For additional information about the Fast User Switching option, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
279765 Description of Fast User Switching

For additional information about how to maintain VPN connections while you switch users, click the article number below to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
158909 How to Keep RAS Connections Active After Logging Off

Last Reviewed: 10/18/2001
Keywords: kbenv kbinfo kbnetwork KB289669






I don't know if this is what you are looking for.


Regards


Fitshase

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Best phone camera 2016/2017: Galaxy S7 vs iPhone 7 vs Google Pixel vs HTC 10 Evo vs OnePlus 3T vs…

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

The Pantone Colour of the Year 2017 is Green

Super Mario Run preview | Hands-on first impressions of Super Mario Run: Mario's iPhone & iPad…