XP recovery - cannot see files

Young Ranger 21:00 04 Aug 04

I have had a few problems and had to resort to using the system recovery disc. I used the second option, reinstall system files without format and have now got it working again. However, I cannot see my old programmes and files.

My Computer indicates that the same amount of disk space (10 GB) is in use as there was before the system recovery. I assume that this means the files are still there but cannot be seen. Am I correct and if so can I access them.

If There is no way to access them, can I recover the disc space without a complete format?

daidash 21:14 04 Aug 04

Young ranger I am new to all this so excuse me if this is out of place. Have you gone to system restore Go to control panel performance and maintenance on left side you get system restore you can create your own restore day. Hope this is some help daidash

woodchip 21:22 04 Aug 04

Do not know what Comp you have I have a Medion Recovery Disc that as three different way's to recover. If computer will not boot

1/ Restore System Files

2/ Restore System Files and Drivers, I can still use all programs at this point.

3/Restore as Full Recover when Computer first Purchased, Loos everything on C:\ and back with clean Slate

stalion 21:24 04 Aug 04

Do a file search,just put an x in the search box it will bring up all your files then you can have a look to see if your missing files are there

Legolas 21:25 04 Aug 04

have you tried searching for something you know is on your comp but you cant see.

Legolas 21:26 04 Aug 04

Young Ranger 21:44 04 Aug 04

Found them all in C:\My Old Desk Structure. The programme files are also there but when I try run them I get a message "Operating system is not configurd to run the application."

The document files are not linked to the programme. IE, an Exel file does not have an Excel icon. I reinstalled one of the programmes but still could not access the files.

woodchip 21:51 04 Aug 04