//some 3rd party need geo

XP problems. Is it genuine??

what the... 14:31 17 May 06

Hello

I bought my pc froma local pc shop about 14 months ago...everything has been fine until last two days when ive had this windows genuine advantage upadte or something telling me my copy is not genuine. I went back to the shop and after much debating and threats to report him he gave me a genuine microsfot windows disc. The problem i have now is how do i start to upgarde or install or do what is necessary in order to make my windows xp installation genuine. I am not an expert so any help in simple terms would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

John

mattyc_92 14:38 17 May 06

Use "Magical Jelly Bean" (click here) to change your serial

You shouldn't have to format, as changing the serial should cure it

rodriguez 14:48 17 May 06

Start by backing up all the files you want to keep and then put the genuine Windows XP disc in and restart the computer. Look out for a "Press any key to boot from CD..." message and then press Enter and the CD will boot and start the Windows XP installation. Then it's just a case of going through and choosing which hard drive to use and it should be pretty straight forward. Just pick the main hard drive if there's 2 drives or if there's only one drive use that. Let it format the drive in NTFS format and it should start copying files and installing Windows. It's mostly automatic so it should be quite easy to do. The shop that sold you the fake copy of Windows in the first place has broken the law and if they carry on selling other people fake copies of Windows they should be reported to Microsoft and the police. click here for details about reporting it.

johndrew 14:48 17 May 06

My guess is you will need to do a full install, validate, register and update.

The question is, if you`ve had the PC 14 months, have you updated Windows during that time? If so, how?