Is this worth 800 quid?

tasslehoff burrfoot 22:21 01 May 04

I have seen the following advertised in a mag and would like to know if it's the bargain they're saying it is, or could I get a same spec system cheaper elsewhere?

AMD Athlon 64 3400
Micron 1024mb DDR RAM
Western Digital 400GB HD (2 x 200gb) ATA-133 7200rpm
ATI Radeon 9800 128mb Graphics card with TV out and DVI
NEC 8x Multiformat DVD burner
MSI 16x DVD rom
ATI PCTV system with media center software
10-in-1 card reader
2 x 1934 firewire ports
10/100 ethernet
floppy
All standard I/O ports and 7 bay full ATX expandable case

£799 inc VAT

This sounds pretty good to me, but I'm no expert.

I think the graphics card could be better but I'm not a heavy gamer so can live with it.

Any advice/opinions would be gratefully received.

TIA

Tas

woodchip 22:31 01 May 04

It's good if you can afford it and even better if you have a use for a comp with all that power

woodchip 22:32 01 May 04

PS don't forget that there is no monitor in the above list and you have not said OS

tasslehoff burrfoot 22:43 01 May 04

OS is XP home,

No mention of moniter as standard, just upgrade price of £99 for 17"TFT

sidecar sid 22:47 01 May 04

Good spec,i assume this is a Tiny PC So don't forget to add £39.99 for delivery and a minimum of £59.99 for a system recovery disc and one year collect and return warranty.

tasslehoff burrfoot 22:53 01 May 04

It is from Tiny. Am I correct in thinking that I can create my own system recovery disc when I get it? I seem to recall hearing that the OS is in a hidden partition on these pcs and you can just burn a copy off and reformat if needed? Or is a system recovery disc something else?

Oh, and with regard to the monitor, I can use my current one if one isn't supplied so no great loss there.

Thanks for the comments so far!

Tas

byfordr 22:59 01 May 04

click here

A quick search on Time or Tiny should reveal all ;-)

R

tasslehoff burrfoot 23:44 01 May 04

Thanks,