Word Help - Hangs on Startup

Alien463 13:08 26 Feb 03

Hello. I am a security architect running both a network and a couple of standalone computers.

I have a windows ME computer with 256mb ram, 200gb harddrive and pentium 4 processor.

Everytime I start Microsoft Word it seems to hang on startup, that is, I get the splash screen upon which the program stops responding and must be closed using ctrl + alt + del.

I thought that it might be due to a corrupt normal.dot, but after deleting it and restarting problem still persists. Word opens fine in safe mode from run dialog box ("C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\WINWORD.EXE" /a).

Thanks in advance,

Alien463

Alien463 13:15 26 Feb 03

Sorry, just forgot to add a few other details.

After starting in safe mode, and then closing this down opening word normally still causes the program to hang.

Reinstallation of office does not help, have checked for invalid registry entries but none found.

Also closed all background progs before opening, still to no avail.

Thanks again

Alien463

Alien463 13:15 26 Feb 03

After starting in safe mode, and then closing this down opening word normally still causes the program to hang.

Reinstallation of office does not help, have checked for invalid registry entries but none found.

Thanks again

Alien463

Alien463 13:16 26 Feb 03

Thanks again

Alien463

jazzypop 14:21 26 Feb 03

As winword /a works OK, look at the advice in click here to see what settings are ignored with the /a switch, and click here for some advice on how to resolve them.

See also click here for more detailed advice.

There have also been reports that updating graphics card drivers can help, believe it or not :)

Which version of Word are you using?

What on earth is a security architect?

frior-one 14:30 26 Feb 03

I too had this problem. rename you normal.dot template file to something else like duffnormal.dot as it has got corrupted.