Wireless security issues

emma dimwit 11:38 01 Jan 08

i recently set up my toshiba laptop to run wirelessly on wep i had to change the router from wpa to wep which i managed with help of sky techs and everything runs fine until i bought my daughter new laptop for xmas, herein lies problem my new laptop device only runs on wpa so changed router back, now my toshiba won,t work???? HOW DO I CHANGE MY TOSHIBA (not the router)TO RUN ON WPA NOT WEP??? Also when sky was helping me with the wifi they managed to delete my LAN so I cannot connect through ethernet???? Please note I am a complete novice and need help in plain terms THANKYOU

ambra4 12:09 01 Jan 08

Go into laptop and delete the profile that you fist set up on the Toshiba, reconnect using the new WPA code

When you say, “delete my LAN” is it the LAN card setting or the LAN card driver

If Lan card setting check this posting

click here

If Lan card driver go to Toshiba web site and download the LAN card driver for your model laptop

click here

irishrapter 16:11 01 Jan 08

Its a good thing that your new laptop only runs with WPA as WEP is no good, its too easy to break WEP encryption.

As ambra4 says, just delete the current connection, scan for new networks in which you should see your own network again, connect and enter the WPA key.

By the way, the WPA should be of at least 20 random characters and not something found in any dictionary.

emma dimwit 16:55 01 Jan 08