Wireless Router to Wireless Gateway

rogerboa 09:42 11 Mar 08

I live in France, and most of my equipment was sourced in the UK, which is where I am from.

I’m a novice with WiFi! I know what I want, and have some idea of the pitfalls, but I need someone to tell me if my assumptions are on the right track, or just stupid!

I have installed a Linskys WAG200G ADSL Home Gateway, which is working fine. This is linked via Ethernet cable to my computer, giving me access to the Internet via my broadband ISP - Wanadoo/Orange, AKA France Telecom. The computer and Gateway are both located on the first floor of our house, and are connected to one of my two fixed telephone lines. This line has been dedicated to the Internet from when we only had a dialup connection and before changing to broadband.

I have just purchased a Siemens S675 IP telephone, which needs a Router to aid the connection to the Internet. This telephone is plugged into my second telephone line located on the ground floor, providing use of the fixed line for incoming calls and answerphone, and outgoing fixed line calls. I need an Internet connection for this unit, because I want to use the telephone for VOIP calls to the UK and Ireland in particular, without having to switch on my computer every time I want to make a call, a facility built into the telephone, if and when I can configure it over the Web!

Can someone please advise me if there is a Linskys wireless telephone/adapter/router into which I can plug the telephone, and which will communicate wirelessly with the WAG200G? If there is, will it need a separate adapter, or is the built-in technology sufficient, in other words will a Linskys Router (say the WRT54GL or WRTP54G) ‘talk’ wirelessly to the Gateway, and thus enable my telephone to make VOIP calls?