wireless router failed after virus

paulenorman 15:29 20 Oct 09

I have a Packard Bell laptop running Windows XP and a Ralink wireless card. My provider is Sky, with a Sky router. Following a virus alert last Sunday I downloaded some free antivirus software but couldn't register it as I could no longer connect to the Internet. Sky help got me running again with the Ethernet cable attached but no wireless. They were unable to fix the wireless problem and suggested it was a hardware failuer, i.e. the wireless card. The ethernet connection is slow but usable. The router works fine according to device manager, but I have a red cross on the wireless connection. We used IPCONFIG/RELEASE and /RENEW to get the broadband up and running again. I have been using the Sky router for two years with no problems.

Ashrich 17:03 20 Oct 09

Dare I ask what the virus alert was , and who from , and also what did you download ?

This all sounds dead dodgy to me .....

Ashley

paulenorman 15:22 21 Oct 09