Wireless Questions

stolo 09:30 08 Nov 05

Am an absolute novice but wanted to basically have my modem downstairs and my PC upstairs, possibly adding printer and another PC at a later date. Did a little research, asked a few questions and bought:

Belkin Pre-N wireless Router.
Belkin Pre-N network card.
Dlink ADSL modem with ethernet slot.

I can install network card - no problem. What The issues I'm having difficulty with are the instruction modem ask that it's connected to the pc via ethernet during installation. The router instruction say that I must connect the (installed) modem to the PC via the router during install. Have tried to install the router wirelessly - didn't work. As I do not have any ethernet connections on my PC should I add an ethernet card or does anyone know of a way around this?

Would be extremely grateful for any help.

Doire_Bhoy 09:35 08 Nov 05

Your network card has an ethernet connector on it does it not?

Anyway i set up a wireless network in my house last week.

I bought a netowrk adpater though, installed the software on my pc. I then rang up Belkins free 24/7 helpline.

Ok it took a while to get through, however once i did the guy on the other line was really helpful and had me set up on a wireless network in five mins.

If you know little of setting it up, i would strongly advice ringing Belkin.

PaulB2005 09:38 08 Nov 05

I would and make sure you have a CAT 5 Path lead too - although one probably came with the Router.

You need to use the wired connection first to set up the router as the router can't connect to your PC or your ISP until you make changes to the settings. Catch 22.

PaulB2005 09:39 08 Nov 05

Network Card with an Ethernet port

or

Wireless Network Adaptor with an Aerial??

Doire_Bhoy 09:41 08 Nov 05

"You need to use the wired connection first to set up the router as the router can't connect to your PC or your ISP until you make changes to the settings."