Wireless networking in Linux (Ubuntu)

HighTower 01:25 24 Dec 06

Anyone managed to get their wireless network card working in the Ubuntu distro of Linux? If so any tips as I'm having no luck with mine!

dms05 07:50 24 Dec 06

Quote from a Linux forum:

Every release of Ubuntu includes an updated kernel with more device support than the one before. Being a change addict I always update when new releases come out. IMHO, If you have hardware that's not directly supported by an older Ubuntu release, upgrade to the latest. WiFi support in particular continues to expand with each release.

and.....

The *.inf file is the one you need to install in ndiswrapper. Try downloading a fresh one from the manufacturer's website. SOmetimes that helps.

The *.sys file needs to be available in the same directory as the *.inf file, but it's the *.inf file you install. ndiswrapper -i /path-to-/*.inf

.....I'm a newbie and managed to get two different Broadcom cards working on 2 different laptops first time using (a) the latest release of PCLinuxOS and (b) the recommended drivers from the ndiswrapper web site. One was in fact a Dell driver.

HighTower 10:30 24 Dec 06

I'll give it a go. It's the last thing I need before Linux is 100% running on the machine, and I really like it so far. I think that Windows' days could be numbered in my household!

Thanks again.

LastChip 13:13 24 Dec 06

My limited understanding of this issue leads me to believe you need to use (as dms05 says) the ndiswrapper wrapper. You then use your normal Windows drivers within the wrapper.

But don't take this as gospel. It is a common question and you will find lots of support in the Ubuntu forums on this subject.

TomG 10:51 27 Dec 06

Hi