Wireless networking with Linksys

loneranger 16:05 22 Mar 03

I have 3 XP computers and have just bought 3 linksys USB networking hubs. The configuration instructions for a complete novice are a bit vague. Has anyone used this system and can write easy to understand details for an utter novice?

John-259217 17:51 22 Mar 03

Yes & no ! (but I`ll try anyway.)First install the network adaptors and wireless software on two of your systems. Run the wireless config. program and make sure the settings match on both systems and that they are set up for peer to peer or ad-hoc use (not infrastructure). If all is well both computers should show a detected wireless network. Now run the XP network setup wizard on both computers, it works quite well and takes care of all file and print sharing for you. If everything is ok you should be able to access My Network Places and "see" the 2nd system adding the third system should now be easy! By the way it sometimes takes XP a few minutes to realize a network is present which does`nt help matters.

GANDALF <|:-)> 20:20 22 Mar 03

I would be interested to hear any more posts about the linksys USB wireless as I will shortly be buying 4 of them to link 4 XP computers in the same room.

G

Forum Editor 23:32 22 Mar 03

is Linksys based - although there's a bit of ethernet mixed in for good measure.

I run a Linksys 2.4Ghz WAP11 wireless access point, and this is connected to my network hub. The hub's there because my wife has a home office, and her machine shares my ADSL connection via an ethernet connection which runs off the hub to her machine. She doesn't like the idea of a wireless connection (don't ask).

Otherwise, all other machines (2 desktops and a laptop) have USB Linksys wireless adapters - except the laptop which has a PCMCIA card adapter.