wireless network without a PC ethernet connection

millsie 17:13 25 Jul 06

Hi I am new to all this but have bought a 3 com oofice connect ADSL wireless router which came with a 3com wireless USB adaptor. I have a Dell Dimension 4500 PC which is a few years old and doe not have a wireless or an ethernet connection. I want to create a wireless network linking the Pc to a new Dell Inspiron 6400 which has a wireless card installed and seems to have an ethernet connection. The router installation guide says you must connect to a commputer that has an ethernet connection and correctly configured to communicate with the internet.

My ISP is talk talk and internet is set up on my PC but it has no ethernet. Is there any reason why I cant run my talk talk set up CD on the new laptop so that it has all the internet settings and then set up the router with the ethernet cable attached to the laptop. Of course I dont want to chain the laptop to the router once set up but I assume (hope) that once set up I wont need the ethernet as I can use the wireless card on the laptop and the wireless usb adaptor on the PC. If this is completely mad pleas say so! Would it be easier/ better just to get an ethernet card for the PC Any advice would be much appreciated as I dont want to start something and muck it up.

Strawballs 21:24 25 Jul 06

If the older machine has USB (which I suspect it will it would have to be very old not to) use the USB adapter you said it came with and plug the new one in using the lan temp while you set every thing up.

ade.h 21:46 25 Jul 06

1) You must perform first-time config through an Ethernet connection, PLUS any subsequent changes that affect the wireless link. Do not under any circumstances adjust any wireless-related or ISP-related setting or security protocol without an Ethernet cable.