Wireless network only connects with router reboot

MatthewB 15:28 16 Apr 09

Hi. I'm a newbie here, as I've been getting nowhere with Belkin.

I have a simple wireless network at home - my PC is directly wired to my Belkin "ADSL modem with Wireless G router". It logs onto the Internet every time without fail.

We have a second PC in another room, running XP. it has a Belkin USB wireless card. If the router has been running for more than a few minutes, this second PC will not log onto the wireless network. It picks up the network, with a good signal, but will not log on. It gets stuck at the "acquiring network address" stage and will not go any further.

However, if the Belkin router is rebooted, the second PC logs on instantly.

My wi-fi smartphone behaves exactly the same way as the second PC.

I've tried restoring the factory defaults on the router, to no avail. I've also tried different channels on it, but again no improvement. I've got the built-in firewall turned on, and WPA-PSK (no server) security enabled. It's broadcasting in mixed mode with automatic transmission rate and g-Nitro enabled. SSID broadcast is enabled. Both PCs are running Norton Internet Security 2009.

I'm thinking the problem lies with the router itself, and would welcome any suggestions of remeedies to try!

Thanks in advance,

Matthew

ambra4 22:27 17 Apr 09

Check your setting on the Wireless Card / Adapter and Network Connection

Right click on Wireless Icon in the task bar Click Status-General-Properties

Click – Wireless Network Tab – In the “Preferred Network” display box highlight your network

name and click Properties

Check that the following is Ticked

“ Connect even if this network is not broadcasting”

Click Connection Tab – “ Connect when this network is in range”

Click OK - Click Advanced Button – Select “ Access Point (Infrastructure) Network Only

Close

At the top of display the type of Wireless Card will be displayed

Click Configure-Click-Advanced Tab