Wireless Network HELP!!

tims31 14:48 12 Aug 04

Some help needed please for wireless networking. I have a 3Com adsl modem router with firewall connected up for broadband, a linksys 11g wireless pci card and a 3com PCMCIA card for my laptop. I have installed it all and all is working OK as far as internet access is concerned. I can surf using my laptop or desktop no probs. It is using 128 bit WEP and that seems ok as well.
The problem is I want to access files and things between the two machines and be able to transfer the files between them but can't figure out how to set this up. I have tried to do it using the windows network wizard but this doesn't seem to work.
Do I have to set up the routing somehow for the two machines in the router?

Any help would be much appreciated. Easy basic steps would also be useful as this is my first attempt at networking.
Thanks

Baledor 14:56 12 Aug 04

But in the Linksys router control panel, you can set up the network as 'AdHoc' silly name for what I assume they mean peer-to-peer, see if there is a function within the 3Com settings.

Also try pinging one computer from the other.

TomJerry 14:59 12 Aug 04

suppose you want to share c:\temp on desktop, Click "my computer", find this directory, right click, select propertoes, then select "Sharing" tab, then tick the box some lick share this directory over local net.

Then on Laptop, click "My Network Place", click computers on workgrop, then you can find desktop PC, double click and you can figure the rest out. Of course you need to go Network setup wizard to set up a workgroup and give each computer a name.

Sharing other things such as printer is similar.

have fun.

tims31 15:06 12 Aug 04

Baledor,

I didn't think you could set up an ad hoc network on over wireless network, I thought you had to do infrastructure. Also, how do you ping the computer? As I said, not very knowledgeable on this.

roy 15:45 12 Aug 04

tims31