Wireless network blues ! Cannot see other computer

j98 14:48 11 Nov 04

I have two desktops both running W98SE - both Athlon XP.
I installed Belkin wireless NIC cards in each and a router (Belkin F5D7630-4A) via ethernet port to one. (No internet - just a Local network

After much struggling, (mainly due to a Zone Alarm firewall) I succeeded in getting everything working just fine.

I set up WEP 128bit encryption, and MAC address filtering for security.........and everything still worked fine at both machines. It remained so for the rest of the day and I was highly delighted !

Switched off everything last night, switched on router this morning - switched off the firewall on both machines and now neither machine will "see" the other ! Signal is described as "excellent" in both machines.

I have typed in the WEP encryption key and tried to connect (both machines).......but no luck. The only computer appearing in Network Neighbourhood is the computer on which I access it.

I am a newbie to all this networking ! What could I be doing wrong ?

cherria 17:30 11 Nov 04

check that both machines have an ip address. in a command window, type ipconfig.

then from one machine try to ping the other.

type ping ipaddress

eg ping

this will tell you if each can see the other.

Each machine should have a unique ip address.

j98 22:14 11 Nov 04

Thank you for your reply.

I checked and one computer had no IP address.
Manually allocated address to both (within the range given by router) but the DHCP within the router is supposed to allocate the IP address ?

Pinging the manually assigned addresses is only successful on the same computer. ie each cannot see the other.

I have re-booted each machine in turn - still the same. (Zone Alarm off on both)

Still in trouble !

woodt 22:46 11 Nov 04

Have youtried Belkin's own guide click here

haagden 22:55 11 Nov 04