Wireless network for 2 computers

Koochy 22:32 05 Oct 06

Hi all can i just say i am a total novice with wireless. The problem i have is i have two computers one desk top and one notebook, at present i have the desktop connected to the internet via the ethernet cable and i use the notebook via wireless and i would like to know if i can use them both wirelessly I have the usb dongle that came with the router (Netgear DG834G) that i could use with the desk top as the notebook is wireless enabled or do i have to keep one hard wired? The reason i ask this is the desk top is in the spare bed room and the master b.t. socket is in the lounge Approx 30 metres away and i have been experiencing slow speeds so i tried the notebook with a standard modem direct from the main socket and i got nearly twice the speed.
Xp sp2 on both p.c's

ade.h 22:40 05 Oct 06

Both can use Wi-fi except for wireless-related configuration.

- Insert the driver CD (but do not let it run) and copy the driver from it, or better yet, download the latest version from Netgear.
- Insert the USB adapter and wait for the New Hardware wizard. Point it to the driver and complete the installation.
- You should have a W-LAN icon in the Notification Area. Single click it; refresh the list that has appeared and connect.

Koochy 22:47 05 Oct 06

Thanks for that ade.h i will give it a go in the morning when i get home and post back to let you know how i get on.
Just one other thing if i have to change any settings on the router will i have to put the ethernet cable back in?

Thanks

Koochy

Koochy 14:48 06 Oct 06

Sorted, ade.h to the rescue yet again. I have done as you said and all is well infact better than well, my broadband is now twice as quick as it was,

Thanks again

Koohy

ade.h 15:55 06 Oct 06

That's what I like to hear! Glad I could help.

Koochy 12:12 07 Oct 06