Wireless help -changing from desktop to laptop

stu1162 19:09 06 Dec 05

Please help with what may be a simple solution.
I have purchased a laptop,a Netgear 108mbps wireless router, and card with the intent of removing my old desktop.
My connection is via a cable webstar modem with blueyonder.
Will I be able to just 'switch over' connections from my desktop to my laptop (if so how?)or do I have to leave the desktop connected permanently? and would I have to install any drivers onto my laptop?.
I would like to move the desktop upstairs out of the way so that I can move around with the laptop.
Any advice would be welcome as I am not that experienced in this field.

mgmcc 23:42 06 Dec 05

Shut everything down, including the Cable Modem. Leave the modem off for a couple of minutes.

Connect an ethernet cable between the modem and the router's "WAN" port and between the PC and one of the router's "LAN" ports. Power on the modem and wait for it to be fully booted and online. Then power on the router, wait for it to boot fully and finally boot the PC. You should now be able to access the router's setup pages by entering its IP address into a web browser.

The default setting will probably have let you get online with the PC that is connected with the cable. You need to configure its "wireless" settings so that the laptop can get online wirelessly then you can remove the cable to the PC.

<<< do I have to leave the desktop connected permanently? >>>

No.

<<< would I have to install any drivers onto my laptop?. >>>

You only need to install the software for the Wireless Network Adapter. There is no software to install for the router to which you connect over the LAN, with either a wired or a wireless connection.

stu1162 16:16 07 Dec 05

Thanks mgmcc,

You say connect the cables between the various points, but as i have a webstar cable modem i have an ethernet connection which is not used at present on the modem but is connected to the pc by means of a usb cable.