wireless help

yellows 18:43 14 Oct 05

i am a complete novice on wireless networking. I want to connect my laptop to my desktop. my isp is bt yahoo broadband. What will i need please?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 18:54 14 Oct 05

simplist is adhoc net work to share BB connection

wireless card in PC and one in laptop click here

rhys 21:56 14 Oct 05

I've had ntl broadband installed recently with the cable running along the length of the room.
I had hoped to bury the cable beneath the carpet but this is proving more difficult than i thought it would be. Moving the pc nearer the point where the cable comes into the house is not an option, would it be possible to create a wireless situation with a wireless router and network adapter even though i only have one pc.

tasslehoff burrfoot 22:10 14 Oct 05

you will need a cable router (wireless) and a wireless card/dongle for the PC.

Won't matter that you only have one PC.

rhys 22:20 14 Oct 05

Cheers Tasslehoff Burrfoot sounds like good news.

yellows 23:35 14 Oct 05

after doing a bit of reading on wireless networking i did read that if you have got a adsl usb modem then it is best to bin it and by a router with a modem built in. any opinions?

lonemascot 23:41 14 Oct 05

i have just this second set up my wireless network between my laptop and home computer. all i had to get was a laptop wireless network card 802.11g and a desktop card. i just followed the instructions on the microsoft link above and can now do everything wirelessly from my laptop and vice versa. it seems quite adequate at the moment but i will upgrade and get a wireless router soon so i can take full advantage of faster network speeds.

palinka 14:43 15 Oct 05