Wireless g- adsl+2 modem router.....HELP

twangman 15:26 16 Feb 08

Hi, i have recently bought myself the above router. I bought it for the sole reason of connecting my PS3 to the web. at the minute i have a usb dsl modem provided by 'supanet.'
Also i have a splitter: phone line into splitter, then phone line into pc, then a dsl cable into the modem. i have followed all the instructions and ran all the supplied discs and it wont connect.
on the front of the router i have 4 lights
1. wireless
2. security
3. dsl
4. internet

according to the manuals ect..all 4 lights should come on, but at best i have 3. I have never yet managed to get 'internet.'
i have a N95 mobile phone and when i search for wlan, at times i can find it, as i can on my ps3 but i just cant connect to the internet.

i am complete novice, so any help would be fantastic for me, and the health of my router as it is going to get smashed soon.

Graham. 15:49 16 Feb 08

Why is the phone line going to the PC? Which socket on the PC?

twangman 15:52 16 Feb 08

i have no idea its just the way i was told to set it up and it works well. the phone line goes into the socket called 'line' and has a small diagram of the end of a phone line.

twangman 15:53 16 Feb 08

i have no idea its just the way i was told to set it up and it works well. the phone line goes into the socket called 'line' and has a small diagram of the end of a phone line.

hastelloy 16:36 16 Feb 08

PC to router, router to phone line via a filter. If you're using a modem router you can't use a modem as well.

Graham. 16:38 16 Feb 08

That socket is for dial-up, you don't need that connection.

If the Internet light isn't lit or flashing, the router modem is not 'seeing' the line. Try another filter and cable to the router input.

twangman 16:53 16 Feb 08