Wireless connection

tdmoh 00:18 16 Jul 08

Hi All. I have set up Belkin wireless router ( not encrypted - I know I'm very trusting!) My sons laptop & desktop both connect using different Belkin usb adaptors but my daughter cannot connect with her belkin. When she " repairs connection " it connects for seconds & then stops. Her desktop was set up to work with BT at university. Question, how do I cancel that connection & set up connection to mine. Do I need the SSID address ? How can I find it on my computer? Her wireless connection says connection 13 Sons laptop says connection 4 Is this relevant? Would be grateful for advice. Tried reading other threads & reinstalling her belkin but no luck. Help!

iqs 12:28 16 Jul 08

I must admit I'm not an expert,just what I have learned from my own network,but here go's

Have you uninstalled the old BT software?.Create a system restore point first.

I would reinstall the Belkin software,follow all instructions.The set up should look for all wireless networks in range,and list them.Does this happen?

When you click on the desired network,it should connect,unless you have the wireless security enabled .If you do,you will have to input the password.

SSID,is just the name of your network.My router is enabled to broadcast my networks name,makes it easier to identify .

What firewall are you using,it might pay to disable just while you are trying to establish a connection.

Hope this helps

iqs 12:29 16 Jul 08

Is your ISP VIRGIN?

iqs 12:31 16 Jul 08

Also make sure that the Belkin wireless adapter is set to the same channel as the router.

tdmoh 08:36 17 Jul 08

Thanks iqs
How do I uninstall BT I can only find a file Bt Hub which is just notepad info
I do have Virgin as my ISP
The Belkin is set to auto select channel
I tried switching off Windows firewall - no change - but there may be another firewall ( Mc Afee )How can I find out
Belkin finds the router and connects for a few seconds then stops I need to uninstall BT How ???