Wired Networking Problems

pl 20:30 06 Sep 04

I am new to networking but want to connect three computers by a wired connection I have all the network adapters, cat 5 cables and a switch. I am struggling to set it up. I can't access the internet or share a printer on the clients through the host. I can't even access the files on the host pc through the client pcs or vice versa. I think it is something to do with IP addresses but am unsure. Thanks in advance.

pcgal 20:37 06 Sep 04

pl we need more info..........what operating systems?????????????????

First have a look at the specifications for the Switch to determine whether it has a facility called DHCP.

Without going into too much detail this DHCP can automatically assign IP settings for you, if you let it!

HTH

Use the envelope if needs be

You are quite right in what you state - old age creeping in :-)) - I guess I was picturing my own Router/Switch setup, sorry for any confusion.

The next question would be does pl wish to have all computers accessing the internet independently (Router) or does he/she wish to use MS Internet Connection Sharing facility.

Hopefully I have that one right!

pl 21:49 06 Sep 04

I am Running Windows XP Pro on all three systems and want the machines to access the internet independently, have I got the wrong hardware for the job.

pl 21:50 06 Sep 04

meant to say wnat to share connection

pl 21:53 06 Sep 04

'wnat' is meant to read want

Thanks for help so far

pcgal 23:41 06 Sep 04

You've not got the wrong hardware for the job but the main disadvantage with your setup is the internet gateway pc (the one with the modem attached) has to be connected to the internet so the other computers have internet access.
An ADSLrouter is the way to go every time!!
This frees your network from relying on 1 computer for internet access. The router is the gateway and the modem is built in.