Windows XP recovery CD...or lack of

lucky1 15:05 07 Sep 03

Don't laugh but I've just bought a new PC from PC World ! It's a Compaq Presario S3190UK. On getting it home I noticed that there was no Windows XP Recovery CD. On contacting Computer World they informed me that there was not one with this sytem and that I shouldn't worry as there was an 'emergency partition on the hard drive which I could access to get me out of bother' !!

I am a novice with PCs, can anyone advise me if what I have been told is correct and, if possible, where I might get a recovery CD ?

Many thanks.

clayton 15:44 07 Sep 03

looking @ this site is say you have a Recovery CD creation tool

click here

oh & laugh no i might cry

Forum Editor 15:49 07 Sep 03

There will be a separate partition on the hard drive containing the full Windows XP file set. The operating system will automatically go to this location whenever it needs any files - drivers for instance - and will work with the partition in the same way that it would work with the CD if you had one.

The only scenario in which you would be in real trouble is if the hard drive was to fail completely - then you would have no access to the partition. For this reason, Microsoft accept that you might want to make a backup of the files, so you could reinstall on a new drive if it was ever necessary.

It's worth pointing out that your computer is running on what's called an OEM copy of Windows XP, which is only licenced for use on that particular machine. You are not licenced to install it on another computer - when that machine dies, your licence dies with it.

TommyRed 16:08 07 Sep 03

Bearing what the FE said, would it be worth taking an image of the drive now with Acronis True Image 6.0, Norton Ghost or Drive Image. I don't have any discs with my PC, got it used, and have taken various images of the HDD which will replace your system including XP, should the worst happen. This is if you've got a cd-rw, of course. TR