Windows XP - Problems?

Sazzzer 19:52 26 Nov 03

Just got a new pc with Windows XP pre-loaded. I've never used XP before and wondered if there were any problems or issues with XP that I should be aware of.

Also, when I bought it I was told it already had a built in Firewall and Antivirus. I've found the firewall, but nothing relating to the antivirus. Do I need to add separate software?

And while I'm here, can someone please recommend a good popup killer and post a link please.

Many thanks in advance.

Saz

terminus 19:57 26 Nov 03

Firstly go here and check it out click here

terminus 19:57 26 Nov 03

Firstly go here and check it out click here

DieSse 20:08 26 Nov 03

No, there is no antivirus in WinXP - though a complete system may have one installed by the supplier.

Yes WinXP does have a firewall - it may need switching on - look in the help for how to do this. DO NOT go onto the web without switching on the inbuilt firewall, unless you want the very high risk you will get the Blaster virus before you can even load the MS fix to prevent it.

The firewall is not a particularly well thought of one - it's only active for incoming traffic anyway. You'd be far better of installng one of the many alternatives.

The Microsoft updates page has a link to a years free worth of a good quality anti-virus and firewall from etrust.

Google has a good pop-up blocker in the Google Toolbar - which is one of the single best downloads you can make for searching also.

Indigo 1 20:14 26 Nov 03

Hya, don't bother with the pre-loaded firewall (a 2 year old could crack it)
Don't bother with Windows automatic update, it can cause serious problems. I can highly recomend a free prog called BigFix to update all your software get it from click here.