Windows XP end of support today - how about using Linux instead?

Happy37 19:12 08 Apr 14

Further to my previous thread titled "Windows XP end of support 8th April 2014 - PC query" here:-

click here am now posting this new thread to ask (if in connection to that thread), I can somehow install Linux on my Windows XP/Windows 8 Pro dual boot PC to carry on doing what I am doing in Windows XP but to use Linux instead?

All I want to do from today with Windows XP is the following:-

I want to record my favourite radio shows using a Windows Media Player radio stream (MMS protocol) via the Internet.

I am using Audacity 1.2.6 to record as I have found that it has been the most reliable over the years under Windows XP Pro.

I also use a timer programme called AudRemote that starts, stops and saves the recording for me.

Now to Linux.

Am a complete novice to that. Have done some reading about it, but that's it. I know I will need to download and use Wine in Linux for Windows Media Player to work. What about Audacity 1.2.6?

Will the AudaRemote timer work in Linux too?

click here Zorin OS serve my needs? Which version of Linux do I install and use please?

Grateful for any advice on my scenario - many, many thanks in advance.

Regards,

happy37

I Will

momist 19:52 08 Apr 14