Windows XP Administrator's Account Redundant?

Paddyjoe 03:46 11 Oct 04

I am the only user of two desktops and a laptop, all of them running XP Professional. I find it very frustrating that on one of my computers I have an Administrator's account and my user's account, with a great deal of unnecessary duplication, and over time there tend to be differences associated with the fact that there are two sets of Desktop displays, etc., etc., not to mention the resultant filling up of my HDD space.
In my view, there is no reason why I need a separate Administrator's account since I am also an Administrator as the only user. This view is borne out by the fact that I have somehow managed to successfully set up my second computer, and my laptop without a separate Administrator's account! My problem is that I have no idea how I managed it! Can anyone help?

paddyjoe

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 09:42 11 Oct 04

Start - settings - control panel - user accounts

Click on account select delete account.

Paddyjoe 08:33 12 Oct 04

Thanks, Fruit Bat /\o\, for tackling my problem of the Administrator Account, but I'm afraid the solution is yet to be found.
On selecting Users' Accounts and right clicking the Administrator dialogue box, indications are that, among other things, the account may be deleted; however, double clicking does not offer that option.
Users' accounts designated as Computer Administrator Accounts may be deleted,but that doesn't help me.
I've tried creating extra Users' maccounts configured as Administrator accounts, and tried using Safe Mode, but all to no avail. Any further suggestions?

VoG II 08:36 12 Oct 04

Does click here help?

temp003 09:45 12 Oct 04

Having 2 accounts with Administrator privileges can have its use (even though, I agree, not often). But obviously it's a personal choice.

Try this. Right click My Computer, select Manage to open the Computer Management Console. Expand System Tools, Local Users and Groups. Select Users.