Windows XP and 98SE Operating Systems on one PC

Jaklawson 15:58 29 Dec 04

Hi There!!!! I currently have a new PC with a 1000 mb ram & 400 GB hard disk (two 200gb disks showing as "c" & "D" drives.. Under Xp a number of my old programms I used do not run particularly my family tree programme "Ultimate Family Tree" I have tried the MS patches but they do not appear to work...(or I am doing something wrong... I also have a feeling it may be because I have 1000mb Ram installed...

What I would really like to do is to partition off part of the "D" drive to run 98Se (my old operating system on my old PC) so I am able to access my old programms.

Fom reading this magazine (and others) I feel this should be possble. However, I need a step by step approach as to how exactly to accomplish this venture...

Can anyone point me in the right direction or even supply such a step by step article in simple terms as I am a self taught fella & not entirely sure of my self yet...

thanks Jack

Rayuk 16:03 29 Dec 04

Unless someone knows better I think you have to instal Win98 first on the C drive then XP.dont take this for gospel, await further replies

Rayuk 16:07 29 Dec 04

And a quick Google proves me wrong
click here

bluesbrother 16:14 29 Dec 04

I used to have that setup using Partition Magic.
PM tells you everything you need to know and the wizard makes it a very straight forward operation.

I may be wrong but Win 98 may have a problem with that much memory.

alnwrd 19:17 29 Dec 04

Do you have one hard disk containing two partitions which you call c and d?

The easiest way to combine win98 and win xp is to start with a reformatted disk and firstly load win98 on drive c. You can then load win xp by booting the win xp disk in your cd drive and get the option of creating a separate partition to load xp. YOu can choose to make partition d of whatever size you like. After installation of xp you will automatically get the choice of operating systems to run on bootup.