windows XP

Birder 1 22:23 21 Jan 06

Can i get rid of the above which was preinstalled on my Sony VA10 its different to the version i have been using, and some things are no longer on the version i have now and i need them.

VoG II 22:41 21 Jan 06

Presumably you mean chanhing from Home to Pro version. What 'extras' do you need.

See this thread click here and think carefully.

Birder 1 22:58 21 Jan 06

Hi VoG,

i dont want XP Professional i want the same issue of XP Home ive been using for two years, i used to be able to download photos and use them as walpaper now i can only have the photos as Background

VoG II 23:08 21 Jan 06

Same thing, isn't it?

Totally-braindead 00:52 22 Jan 06

Not sure what you mean either. If your laptop has XP home on it and you still have the XP disks theres no point buying another copy. Windows XP Home is the same Windows XP home it was 3 years ago, the only difference is the copy they sell now has SP1, which are patches, built in, the latest version may have SP2. But the Windows is exactly the same. All you have to do is download the Windows updates.
Could you try to explain what you mean as its the same thing to me as well.

gudgulf 01:13 22 Jan 06

I think I know what you mean.......but I'm not sure that you can do anything about it.

I have seen this in the past on my system,but only prior to adding SP1 (mines an old pre SP version of XP pro).You could set a picture as the backround and a second picture over the top of it as wallpaper.

These days with XP SP2 I can only pick a basic colour as Background and use a downloaded image or photo as wallpaper over that basic colour.In the desktop settings XP refers to what was wallpaper under Win2000 as "Background" and what used to be the background setting under the "Appearance" tab only now lets you select a colour scheme.

Birder 1......is this what you mean?

Anyone out there know how to set a picture rather than a plain background colour underneath the desktop wallpaper in XP SP2?