windows updates

andygpz 16:25 01 Oct 03

when looking in windows for updates it tells me there is 15 updates but when i try it errors me any ideas thanks,but please make it easy as i am fairly new to comps

andygpz 16:36 01 Oct 03

also does anyone know why sometimes when i am on the internet i suddenly get the message this comp has performed something illegal and shuts down

JIM 16:42 01 Oct 03

could you give us any idea of the error ,message or ? etc. Take it your on the windows update site when this happens. Plus post your win/OS

andygpz 17:01 01 Oct 03

hello jim i just tried again the message just tells me this program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down, which seems to hapen alot even when iam just on the internet i am using windows 98se

JIM 17:33 01 Oct 03

Your first post

Normally this would happen if you have recently have added new software,so have a think and if that be the case uninstall then reinstall of software would be the norm.

If it is only happening when online,are you playing a game or is it just browsing in general or just with a particular site you visit? Are you able to repeat the same action to cause the error message.

You could go to add/remove programs click on internet explorer and tools then chose the repair option to see if any improvement.

You may also have more than one program running when online and that could be conflicting with other program.If you have,

Next time you startup your system for to go online, press the keys ctrl/alt delete and end task on all programs showing, BAR explorer and systray.Then startup your ISP to go on line and see how things go from there. Meaning, do you still have the performed illegal operation message.

That error can be trying, to sort out but your best bet is trying to remember what if any changes you have made or updates etc to your system then reverse if possible.