Windows or Linux hosting

Sturmey 11:55 11 Nov 04

I will be getting some web space for myself soon that I will use as personal web space for stock photographs and also I want to setup an on line shop in the future, I have a choice of going with windows (asp, .net) or Linux (php, mysql) hosting I don't know what to choose. I've dabbled in php and mysql and previously rented Linux web space.

fourjays 12:32 11 Nov 04

I have a Win server with php and mysql, and I must say that I prefer php to asp, .net, etc. There are many more php scripts available online for free, and it seems fairly easy to customise (colours, templates, etc - when css is not available).

But from my limited understanding, I belive that Linux is supposed to be better for running php and mysql as it is more stable. Don't quote me on that though. Im still learning alot about web creation.

Maybe someone else can confirm that.

Sturmey 14:22 11 Nov 04

Thanks fourjays, I didn't know you could use php and mysql on a windows server, in that case it may be better to go with windows hosting as then I would have the choice of php, asp, .net

Taran 16:59 11 Nov 04

Most Windows web host accounts do not feature PHP and MySQL, although to be fair, some do. It varies from host to host, but the whole point to Windows hosting is to leverage proper ASP, .NET, Access or MS SQL databases and lots of other nice things. If you don't need or want those features then you may be just as well with less expensive Linux hosting. Both PHP and MySQL are available at a far lower cost by selecting a dedicated UNIX/Linux host running Apache than by using them on a Windows IIS account.

A few PHP functions produce less than expected output when runnnig on Windows IIS, which could be another consideration.